• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
ready for digital music reader - pls advise!
Music 
I have been waiting to take the plunge into the world of tablets... I am a piano teacher and accompanist, and I really want to have tablet on which I can keep my performing library so I can play weddings, funerals, and my accompanying gigs for student musicians.

I really DON'T want an Ipad because (1) the screen is too small for me to play from and (2) I do not want to sell my soul to Apple!!! The only Apple product I have is my MacBook Pro, but I do not want to buy in to the over-priced Ipod, Iphone, Ipad products. I think I want a 10-inch tablet.

I have done a lot of reading on the Music Sheets forum & website today, and I think this MobileSheets app/program is EXACTLY what I need!! (I really REALLY want to have the functionality for annotations). Now I just have to find the right tablet to purchase. I will want to use it for live performance, without audio, and I may or may not use a bluetooth device for page turning. I think I can handle touching the screen in most cases; it will need to have a battery-life of at least 2 hours for gigs. The tablet will need to stay securely on any piano's music rack and not fall down if I tap the screen! I will want to store my music on the device AND back it up on a removable storage device or card. I want to be able to use it with finger touch or stylus. I'd like to be able to use it in portrait OR landscape mode, and I'd definitely like to spend less than $500. I may also use it with my piano students for music theory apps & games, and it would be fabulous if I could put a couple of movies on it, record accompaniments for clients as MP3 files, or use it for Skype. I don't have any kind of data plan, so any internet usage would be via WiFi... not 3G/4G stuff. I have not entered the world of smart phones.