• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How much space do I need?
I'm planning to buy my first tablet mainly to use this app. I have my eye on the Nexus 10, and I'm debating whether I need to buy the 32GB or if the 16GB will do. I've looked at my Galaxy Nexus - the only difference between what I store on my tablet as opposed to my phone will be the music I need to load for this app, and my phone is only using about 5GB including my apps because I store almost everything on the cloud. I am a choir teacher and a church pianist and intend to go almost entirely digital (I have 3 different music binders on my school piano right now and I Can. Not. Wait. to have just one tablet). So, considering I am likely to have an astronomical amount of music in pdf form in the very near future (thank God our school copier has scan-to-pdf capabilities), including a musical score which is hundreds of pages all by its little self... do I need the 32GB?. I suspect I might but I don't want to bother if I'm only going to use a small portion of the space. Even if I can store the music in the Google Cloud, I probably won't so I don't have to worry about having wifi.

I'd love to hear how much space most of you are using!
Hi, I can hopefully give you some indication of sizes:
- I have just over 2,000 big band charts in PDF format (all averaging anywhere between 35-80 pages long) and they come to 5GB.
- I have about 2,000 files for trumpets + vocal in .GIF format and that comes to ~70MB.
- I also have about 1,000 files for trumpets in PDF format and that comes to ~150MB.

Hope that's useful!

Cheers,
Chris
That sounds to me like I can manage with 16GB just fine! Smile
pdf's use far less memory than, for example, video.

Probably the biggest issue in selecting my tablet was size of the screen. So, I went for one of the few tablets with 13.3 inch (or more) screen size. But, I am clearly in the minority.