• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Companion connection problems
I'm new to MobileSheets, and I'm trying to get the Companion to connect to my ASUS TF300T. I have downloaded the ASUS suite and installed it on my PC, which is running Windows 7 Pro. It is connected to the internet through the same router my PC is connected to. It's also connected via USB and bluetooth, though I don't think that makes any difference.

What do I need to do?
Does your PC have a firewall set up (possibly with your anti-virus scanner)? Make sure to disable it. First off, do you get a pop-up when you have MobileSheets Companion running, and you click the sync button the tablet? If so, and the connection fails, does it eventually error out, or does it just hang? Have you tried toggling the wi-fi on your tablet on and off?

I'm going to introduce support for connecting over bluetooth at some point, but until then, I'm going to look into ways to make this connection process easier. Far too many users seem to have issues with it...
Yes, I do have a firewall - a part of McAfee Total Protection. Okay, I disabled it. No, I'm getting nothing on the tablet. Or, at least, nothing I can see. Is that supposed to be in the notification area? Or a pop-up like you get in Windows?

BTW, I have the firewall is set up so that 192.168.1.0-255, which is what I use on the router, is a trusted network.
Could you explain how you're trying to connect to the companion? You shouldn't expect to see anything on the tablet until after it's connected (by which time it will be obvious).

The process is as follows:
1. You should have Mobilesheets open on the tablet, and the Companion app open on the pc.
2. On the tablet you click the circle of arrows (towards the top right) which is the connection/sync icon.
3. On the companion app a window should pop up saying that a device is trying to connect.

Chris