• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Getting a good digital audio output from the inbuilt player
Whilst I have been using Mobile Sheets for over twelve months, this is only my second post to the forums. This post is a little long, but I hope it will prove to be helpful to other members.

Like most MS users, I rely on it to provide charts and lyrics when working live with my band.
But recently I decided to do some solo gigs with sequenced backing tracks. For me, the most elegant way to play the backing tracks would be to use the Android audio player that works well within MS. I use a Toshiba AT300 tablet and, whilst its' inbuilt Digital To Analogue Converter (DAC) is okay, it is certainly not good enough for high quality amplified sound.

I figured a USB DAC should work, but currently that is not an option. There are USB audio output devices that will work with Android tablets, but AFAIK, the only current Android audio player app that will address such a DAC is one called "USB Audio Player Pro" and that will not work with third party apps like MS.
I know Mike is looking at this whole USB DAC thing now, so maybe he will come up with a solution.

But in my situation, I have found a great workaround that works perfectly right now. Provided your tablet has a HDMI output this will work for you as well. The solution involves purchasing (eBay or Amazon) a US$34.95 “ViewHD Premium HDMI to HDMI + SPDIF + RCA L / R Audio Extractor.” (or similar).